“The three most harmful addictions are heroin, carbohydrates, and a monthly salary.” ― Nassim Nicholas Taleb

We built a wall!

Each day, we sleep longer than ever before. My work has only always been purely intellectual up to this point...and the only movement it required was my fingers running across a keyboard.

Once you leave your bed, it's cold and always only cold. Coffee helps a little. A swig of rum in your coffee helps a lot. But what warms you in the end more than anything is seeing something new, something tangible growing under your fingers.

You start your morning with nothing and finish it with a new wall (I call it a Snail Gate, guess why)standing in the spot onto which you unloaded a lot of your energy. You haven't wasted your time in dull meetings, you didn't waste hours away sending emails back and forth whilst making money for other people.

I think my parents would be proud. I come from a deep countryside. In my early twenties, I moved to London and got myself a new wardrobe, new fashion/fitness/supplements/subscriptions habits (that must follow should one desire to operate within the capitalist society) and a chair in various TV and advertisement offices. Although both medical practitioners, as a hobby my dad repairs antique furniture and my mum can make anything grow in her impecable garden. All I can do is to live quite a bizarre life and then talk, write and make videos about it. But maybe not for much longer!

Today we moved some stones, as the new castle owners try to use whatever is at hand - the more natural, the better - to do repairs, upcycle, re-purpose. A sentiment I can totally get behind. We played tetris with the stones and because I'm still me, I found time to collect snail shells and include them in our new wall.

I'm exhausted. But for the first time in my life I understand why and that all of it is just for us. We'll leave this place at some point, but it will forever be changed by the hours and by the work we offered it.

If you see our little wall one day, touch the snail shells and make a wish!